MS4101 – Sound – Final Work & Evaluation

Although recording a sound clip might seem so easy, it was more complicating than I ever thought, setting up the Tascam Portable Recorder was challenging for the external mono microphone, there was no sound coming through the headphones when the Type was set to mono, so first thing I thought was that it should be on stereo. The reason I did not use the Tascam microphone is because of the way it is made, it is a directional microphone, as with the handheld microphone you could keep it anywhere and it will still catch the sound.

It was also a challenge to workout how to use Adobe Audition; I could not tell what was the purpose of the Waveform or the uses of the Multitrack. I was planning to use the equalizer too but I could hear no difference in sound, and when I did hear some difference, it did not sound good at all. It was the same with all other effects, I did not want the interview to sound as if someone was interviewing a person in a car with closed windows.

It was a challenge to find the sounds from Clash of Clans, I had to find every sound file individually, which was time consuming, but it was well worth the time.

One problem I found is that after I saved my work, I could no longer open the session; there were no files in the session. So it was very frustrating, plus saving work is a very important thing as my work got all deleted because I did not save and Audition force closed.

One of my biggest challenges was getting colleagues to help me record as I was hardly ever available at the same time they was, so I was very unorganised during the process.

Overall I think I did well, I have achieved what I had in mind, and there is no odd sounds or sounds not related to the game.

MS4101 – Sound – Final Work & Evaluation

Leave a comment